Sannelw.reismee.nl

Provincials and canadians eating Dutch pancakes :')

I don’t think I’ve written so many blogs in such a short time period this year but I wanted to let you know how track provincials went and how I might have become a little bit more Canadian.

First of all, provincials. I don’t think I’ve ever been so nervous before a track competition. I don’t really know why I was so nervous but probably because I knew I had a chance to end in the top three if I threw good enough but I also knew I’m not very consistent in throwing yet so it could go both ways. As in the other competitions discus was in the morning and high jump in the afternoon.
Provincials were way more official than regionals. Before any events began there was some kind of openings ceremony where athletes walked two laps around the track I guess to show what schools were represented that day. Afterwards there were some speeches and it ended with the Canadian anthem. I think by now I actually know all the lyrics of the anthem. Maybe we should introduce singing the anthem before sport competitions (other than soccer) in The Netherlands too.
Anyways, discus started at 11 and my first two throws were horrible, around 24 and 20 meters I think. I was pretty sure I wouldn’t even be in the best 8 ( the best 8 go through to finals where you get three more throws). I thought after I threw my last one that I was done cause it didn’t feel good so I expected something around 25/26 but it turned out to be 30,70. I knew I would be in the top 8 but second place surprised me a lot. I was kind of excited but also knew that everyone else had three more throws so it was nervously waiting and hoping no one would throw over 30,70. I didn’t improve my distance but so did no one else. I was so pumped and almost couldn’t believe it because it was so unexpected. I think that’s the best way of winning something, unexpectedly.

After that my day was just awesome I didn’t really care anymore what I would do in high jump. We had to wait for like 4 hours because high jump was one of the last events but watching track is one of my most favorite things to do so it wasn’t too bad. High jump just went as I wanted it to go. I made every height in one time until I reached 1,50 and then knocked the bar of three times. Got some icecream on the way back and played some basketball when I got home. My day was done ;)

Sanne stayed and spend the night so we could bake some Dutch pancakes and apple pie on Saturday.
I was awake at like 7 and got a text from friends if they could come over. Long story short. Two of my Canadian best friends, Adrian and Colton, didn’t have anywhere to go at 7am ( don’t ask me why) and wanted to come over and have pancakes. So I asked my mom and she said it was fine if they would bring her a Tim Horton’s tea ( no day passes for her without a tea from Tim Horton’s (Canadians -.-‘) ;) ).
Anyways we still needed to do some groceries to make the pancakes and I told them I would give them money to get it, but no…. I had to come with. So I was standing outside in the rain still in my pajamas, glasses on, undone hair and on flipflops contemplating if I should come with. Then I thought ‘You know what, the people in the grocery store will probably never see me again so whatever’. So now I can actually say that I’ve been to tim’s and done grocery shopping in my pj’s. Like I said, partially Canadian, I’m a little proud :’).

After 1,5 hour of ‘pancake-baking’ the Canadians finally got to experience what a real Dutch pancake tastes like……… Well I don’t know if they really know what the pancakes tasted like since they put a lot of white chocolate spread, chocolate sprinkles, icing sugar and maple syrup on it and by a lot I mean like. A LOT. But they liked it so I guess it’s all good. Sanne and I really tried to tell them that that’s not the way to eat them but I guess boys will be boys ;).
Some of you might wonder why I’ve never mentioned Adrian and Colton before. It’s probably because I know you guys have no clue who I’m talking about anyways. But almost every weekend since I met those two I get to hang out with them (and every week I wonder why I am ;) )but they are probably one of the best things that’ve happened to me this year and when I’m back 9/10 stories will most likely involve them somehow so I guess it’s worth mentioning them ;).

My next blog will probably be my last blog. My (Dutch) mom keeps reminding me to post pictures on here but I keep forgetting it (hehe) but I hope I’ll have them online before I’m back in The Netherlands =D

Reacties

Reacties

Colton

Oh Sanne

O&O Diepenveen.

30.70 , super!! Daar mogen ze het Wilhelmus wel voor zingen!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!