Sannelw.reismee.nl

Track, Toronto and more track :)

So I said I would write a blog right after Toronto but I decided to wait till after regionals so I could tell you guys about that too.

Let’s start with districts last Wednesday. We left school around 8:30 to go to Bridgewater where districts were held. That’s about a thirty minute drive from Liverpool. I started with discuss at 10:30 and because I hadn’t done it in like 5 years I had no clue what I was capable of throwing. My second throw was just perfect. I have no idea how I did it but it landed over the thirty meter line which already surprised me a lot. It turned out to be 35,41 meters which broke the old record of 34, something. I remember my personal best being like 24 meters the last time I threw so I guess I grew a little stronger ;)
High jump made me a little nervous because it started at 3 o’clock and I had to leave to go to the airport around 4 and for the people who don’t know, high jump can take a really long time. Fortunately everything went pretty smooth and I was pretty happy with 1.42 since we jumped on cement so wearing spikes wasn’t possible.
Overall a great day first place in discuss and second place in high jump which meant I got to go to regionals.

Right after high jump Denise came to pick me up to go to the airport. I was so excited ! The flight was about two hours long so that wasn’t too bad. When we landed Denise’s friend was already waiting for us and the drive home was about an hour. I was pretty much exhausted and went straight to bed. The next day we drove around in the area where Denise’s friend lives because they didn’t live in the city but more in a suburb about half an hour out of the city. Since a lot of Dutch people immigrated to Canada after the second world war you can still find some Dutch places and so did we. We found a small shop where they sold all kinds of Dutch stuff like gevulde koeken, joden koeken and all sorts of broodbeleg. I have to admit it even makes me proud showing people the typically Dutch food and explaining what it is. Even though most of the time you just can’t cause seriously how do you explain what gestampte muisjes are !? Well I tried but ended up saying ‘just try it, it’s really good’ with basically everything.
In the afternoon we went downtown because the blue jay’s game started at 7. Beforehand we went to the fanshop and it took me about an hour to find the perfect hat but I found it eventually. Of course I’ve watched the games on television before but when I walked in the stadium it was so different. Contrary to what I expected the field was actually quite small. We had really good seats about 15 rows behind the away dugout and could see everything perfectly. Before the game I went down and got my hat signed by one of the players and then sat down to watch the game. If you want a detailed report about the game feel free to ask me about it because it’s too long to write it all in this blog but let me tell you this, it was awesome! And they won the game 8-4 ;).

The next day we went downtown again to do some sightseeing. We drove around in one of those red tourist busses and did the CN tower. It’s the second highest building in the world and when you get up there you can look down and walk over a glass floor or walk around and look over the Toronto skyline. It was beautiful.
Saturday we went to an amusement park called wonderland or as I like to call it ‘paradise’ since there were like 14 different rollercoasters to try. It was pretty busy because the national cheerleading championships were also held there so we didn’t get to do all of them but it was still an awesome day.
Sunday we drove to Niagara falls. First we just walked around and made a lot of pictures ;) After that I got to walk behind the falls where I walked into two other Dutch people. I have to say I kinda missed speaking Dutch since I normally talk Dutch with Sanne every day so we had a nice Dutch conversation about where we were from and what we were doing in Toronto. But okay, back to the falls again. After walking behind the falls we took the boat that takes you very close to the falls. Fortunately everyone gets a poncho because yes, you do get wet. Very wet. But it was pretty funny to see everyone taking pictures of each other (or with their selfie stick) in their charming, pink poncho’s.
Back on top of the falls I realized that the beauty and variety of Canada’s nature keeps amazing me every time and i probably haven’t even seen 1% of the country.
We stayed the night in an hotel and then crossed the border to the US the next day. Me (and my passport) needed to go through security first. I got a bunch of questions about me being a terrorist, a drug smuggler or a prisoner but I faked my way through it all and they didn’t discover that I’m secretly a Dutch spy so it’s all good. Those questions really make me wanna be really sarcastic but it’s America so ya better don’t ;) ( no offense to any Americans)
Anyways we did some shopping, bought new shoes that I didn’t need (I know, I know but they were only 23 euro’s :p) and drove back home in the evening.

And then it was already the last day in Toronto. In the morning we just went for a walk, did some last minute shopping, headed to the airport and that was basically my trip to Toronto. The weather was great every single day, we were very lucky.

Back from Toronto I had two days at school which weren’t very interesting and then last Friday were track regionals, whooooo :)
I was kinda nervous since I broke a record the last time and I felt a little pressured to do really good even though I knew that that throw was just really good and I probably won’t throw as far any more the whole season. Regionals were held in Acadia which is about two hours away from Liverpool. Again was discus my first event and it didn’t go as well as I wanted it to go but also not really bad. My second throw was also here my best 31,91 meters and that was good enough for second place and to go to provincials. High jump was later in the afternoon, 4 o’clock and although it was on a football field (no soccer, football) we weren’t allowed to wear spikes. It does make a big difference for me because you can’t lean in as well as when you’re wearing spikes because I was afraid to slip but I got over 1.45 which wasn’t bad. I ended up in third place which meant I also qualified for provincials in high jump.
Provincials are this Friday so I’ll probably write a blog next weekend too to let you know how I made out.

Reacties

Reacties

Roos

Haha! Held!

O&O Diepenveen

Discuss: blij verrast dachten wij:"Wat goed: Ze leert daar ook nog discussiëren!" Maar het liep uit op gooi- en smijtwerk waar jij nota bene het allerhoogst scoorde. Wij apetrots!! Tenslotte ontdekten we in het woordenboek dat er verschil is tussen discus en discuss. Nooit te oud om te leren!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!