Sannelw.reismee.nl

A day without sports is a day wasted.

Since my last blog a lot of things have happened. First of all I’m going to Toronto in a few days =D !
On Wednesday evening I’m flying out to visit Toronto for 6 days. Denise and I are going just with the two of us and we’ll be staying at a friend of Denise’s. At the beginning of the year when I fell in love with watching baseball I said that I wanted to watch a blue jays’ game (blue jays is the only Canadian team in the MLB) before I would go back to The Netherlands so Denise said ‘we can make that happen’. And here we are :)
Of course we’re also gonna do a lot of other things like the CN tower, Niagara falls and hopefully some shopping. I'm so excited !!!

But okay those are future plans what has happened in the last three weeks. First of all I made the softball team and I’m doing track. It’s a little busy since I have two track practices a week and two softball practices or games a week. And if one of the two is cancelled for some reason there’s always rugby practice to replace it :D but what can say is. I just love doing sports ;)

Softball,
I think we only got three practices outside because the field was still wet from all the melted ice before we got our first game which was last Thursday. We had to play against New Germany which is a really good team who practices whole year around, so it was no surprise to us that we lost pretty bad. Apart from that it was my first softball game ever and I loved it ! I got pretty frustrated with batting because I missed a couple times but, as some of you know me, I started the same evening with practicing, practiced yesterday twice and the rest of the weekend hopefully a couple more times. I’m already way better at it and excited to try it again at my next game which is Tuesday. Unfortunately, districts are next Friday and Saturday when I’m in Toronto so I can’t make them.

Of course I’m also doing track and field (atletiek). I was really upset when I found out districts were on the same day I’m flying out to Toronto because when you can’t make districts it basically means that your track and field season is over since there are no other competitions. Turns out we’re flying in the evening so on the first day of districts I’ll still be able to do one, hopefully two events. Discus in the morning, high jump in the afternoon. Even though I really wanted to do javelin throw (speerwerpen) here which is on the second day, I’m just really excited that I can do track at all.
If you’re good enough in districts you’ll go through to regionals and if you’re good enough there you’ll get to go to the provincial championships.
Because I can’t be there on the second day of districts, it means that in regionals and provincials I also don’t have any events on the second day. However I asked if I could still come with to coach and help out the other athletes in our school and that was no problem.
After doing all these school sports it’s gonna be really hard to choose which one I want to do when I’m back in The Netherlands.

Another Exciting thing that happened was the provincial celebration of sport banquet on the first of May. Two days in advance I was called to the office that I was chosen from our school to represent the international group in school sports. So may 1st I traveled to Halifax to attend the event. It was all very formal and everyone was in suit or dress. I wasn’t informed very well so I had now clue. Apparently I was a little underdressed with my jeans and sweater but oh well they didn’t kick me out ;)
Not that I would’ve worn a dress If I was properly informed but then at least I would’ve had a heads-up.
We all got a certificate with our name on it. Of course my name didn’t fit so they just put the first part of my last name on it but what can I say, it’s not that it has never happened before ;)
If I have to believe my coordinator, getting this award is a pretty big honor here so he said we should take it home, frame it and hang it on a wall. Over all it was a great day.


There are only 45 days left for me in this beautiful country and I will enjoy every second of it. The last months have been nothing other than amazing because I have such great friends here. From now on every moment with them is getting more precious because I know they won’t always be close to me in the future and I think that’s what makes an exchange year so special. In The Netherlands you sometimes just take your friends and family for granted while here I tend to tell my friends and family I love them everyday because I know I can’t say it in person anymore when I’m back.
So for all my friends and family in the Netherlands when I’m back don’t be surprised if I say ‘I love you’ in random moments I just came to the realization that it’s not being said often enough so just know that I love each and everyone of you even though I might not always say it :)

I wasn’t planning on finishing with such a sentimental paragraph haha but sometimes you just write from the heart and it needs to get out ;)

I’ll write a blog when I get back from Toronto to share all my adventures and hopefully some pictures.

Reacties

Reacties

O&O Diepenveen

Inderdaad, heel exciting allemaal.Helaas is hier te weinig ruimte om te beschrijven, hoe exciting Oma al 57 jaar is!!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!